Killam Prizes

Killam Prizes

Among Canada’s most prestigious prizes for careers in research

These prizes recognize the career achievements of eminent Canadian scholars and scientists actively engaged in research, whether in industry, government agencies or universities.

The Canada Council for the Arts awards 5 Killam Prizes of $100,000 each year (1 prize in each of the fields of humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences, engineering).

5 prizes of

$100,000 are awarded each year

2018 Winners

André Gaudreault

André Gaudreault


Université de Montréal

I ended up by concluding that big ideas often come from focusing on the tiniest details.

Dr. Vladimir Hachinski

Vladimir Hachinski

Health Sciences

Western University

If you have to do something that you do not like, change it. If you cannot change it, learn to love it.

Dr. Walter Herzog

Walter Herzog


University of Calgary

Many of my major discoveries have come from experiments that were not aimed at finding/studying that discovery; rather they were serendipitous by-products of otherwise unrelated experiments (…) I learnt that your mind always needs to be prepared for the unexpected.

James Pinfold

James Pinfold

Natural Sciences

University of Alberta

The most important insight I have gleaned about the process of researching into the fundamental nature of matter is best described by Einstein’s famous quote: “Imagination is more important than knowledge."

Janet Werker

Janet Werker

Social Sciences

University of British Columbia

As an academic, you can change the research questions you ask, the way you teach, the kind of community outreach you do or new institute you create – in other words – not only can you always reinvent yourself, there are also so many diverse ways you can make a difference.

This award reflects the hard work and ideas from of a community of undergraduate, graduate and postdoctoral fellows and researchers, academic and industrial colleagues, quite a few are here today. I wish you could all be up here at the podium too.

Dr. Elizabeth Edwards (Engineering, 2016) at the award ceremony at Rideau Hall

Dr. Elizabeth Edwards - Engineering, 2016