Start of Killam Program Microsite


Main Content

The Canada Council for the Arts announces recipients of the 2014 Killam Prizes

 April 9, 2014 |  News Release

Ottawa, April 9, 2014 – Five of Canada’s top scholars and scientists were recognized today as the Canada Council for the Arts announced the winners of the 2014 Killam Prizes, which awards $100,000 to each recipient.

The winners are:

These are Canadians who have made their mark in the international race to find an effective HIV vaccine, pioneered diffusion wave technologies that are revolutionizing medical diagnostic methods, introduced the new discipline of “Cybercartography” and its capacity to illuminate socio-economic issues, enhanced our understanding of relations between Canada’s Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal peoples, and developed optical technologies that will transform the way information systems transmit data.


“The Canada Council joins all Canadians in paying tribute to this year’s Killam Prize winners — individuals who have boldly and consistently pushed the boundaries of our understanding of the world,” said Joseph L. Rotman, Chair of the Canada Council. “Each has aspired to excellence in their chosen disciplines and to improving the lives of people around the globe through their research and scholarly pursuits.”

Killam Trusts Managing Trustee George Cooper noted, “The Killam Prizes were endowed by Dorothy J. Killam in the name of her late husband, Canadian industrialist Izaak Walton Killam. Their vision was to build Canada’s future through advanced research at Canadian universities. The 2014 Killam Laureates honour the Killam vision through their world class work.”

Learn more about the Killam Program

  • The Canada Council Killam Program, inaugurated with a donation by Mrs. Dorothy J. Killam in memory of her husband Izaak Walton Killam, includes the Killam Prizes and the Killam Research Fellowships, which are administered by the Canada Council.
  • The Prizes were created to honour eminent Canadian scholars and scientists who have made substantial and distinguished contributions to research in industry, government agencies or universities, which has had national and international impact.
  • The Fellowships support scholars engaged in research projects of outstanding merit and widespread interest in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences, engineering and interdisciplinary studies within these fields.